29
Mar
11

Late to the Party

Yup.  2011, and I’m starting my first blog.  I know what you’re thinking, “way to catch up, Britt… blogs have only been around for about 15 years.”  But I’m slow to jump onto any bandwagon.  I just bought a smart-phone in January.  I didn’t get on facebook until my senior year of college.  I still don’t own an xbox 360, I don’t have a DVR and I played my first game of Call of Duty online multiplayer earlier this year.  (Not Black Ops, not MW2, but World at War – Wii platform).  I guess I like to make sure things aren’t just a fad that will fizzle out before I invest any time or money into them.  I suppose the blog passes that test.

My hopes for this blog are simple.  I only wish to share thoughts as God teaches me.  To share things that bring a laugh.  Maybe to share things that hurt.  But most importantly, to share things that set our minds and hearts on things above.

My junior year of high school, my U.S. History teacher, Mrs. Bryan, opened the first day of class with a question: “What is the one thing you can do anytime and anywhere, with no rules or laws which control how you may do it?” (forgive me if I’ve misquoted, Mrs. Bryan!)

Think.  No, I’m not telling you to think harder, that’s the answer.  Think.  You may think anytime, anywhere, whatever you want and no one can stop you.  No one can pass legislation telling you what to think.  No one can punish you for thinking.

That’s an awful lot of freedom, is it not?  It may seem like nothing, but I believe that freedom to be a huge gift out of our Father’s love for us.  But it’s also dangerous.  For we know that our actions are derived by our thoughts.  Even if we have a thought that we know we shouldn’t act on, it is the “i can’t do that” thought that stops us from acting.  Our thoughts control our actions. 

So what’s filling your heart and mind?  What are your heart and mind set on?  In the third chapter of Colossians, Paul writes:

“Since then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God.  Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.”  (Colossians 3:1-2 NIV)

May our hearts stay set on things above.  May our minds stay set on things above.  If our hearts and minds stay set on the things of this world, our actions will be just that.  Worldly.  If we desire our actions to be righteous and of our Heavenly Father, then our hearts and minds must remain set on things above.  It is my hope that this blog, in some simple way, may help move us together toward that end.

Let the blogging commence. =)

2 Responses to “Late to the Party”


  1. 1 Melanie Terrell
    March 29, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    Britt, I’m so excited you’ve started a blog! And you’re off to a great start – even if you ARE late to the party! If I wasn’t late, I would never be ANYWHERE! I look forward to reading your thoughts!

  2. 2 David LeFrois
    April 10, 2011 at 8:23 am

    Hey Britt,
    Let the blogging begin, I’m excited for the church.
    Keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

Britt Johnson

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

